An overview of Frecce Trains (Italy)

Italy's national rail company Trenitalia uses Frecce branding for its fastest express trains, the English translation of 'Frecce' is 'arrow'.

The four types of Frecce services are:

(1) Frecciarossa 1000

(2) Frecciarossa

(3) Frecciargento

(4) Frecciabianca 

Specific trains are used for both the Frecciarossa 1000 and Frecciarossa services, but multiple types of train are used for the Frecciargento and Frecciabianca services so the on board experience can differ when travelling by those services.

Brand new trains are being introduced on some Frecciargento routes.

Also new is that on the Frecciarossa and Frecciarossa 1000 trains 'Quiet Coaches' are now available in Standard Class - they had previously only been an option when travelling Business Class.
If travelling in these coaches would be your preference, look out for 'Standard Area Silenzio' when booking tickets.


Trenitalia uses a system of train numbers to designate each specific departure, these numbers are different to the departure times.

The train numbers for all Frecce departures begin with AV, short for 'Alta Velocita', the English translation of which is 'high speed' - though the Frecciabianca services don't use the high speed lines.


The routes on which the Frecciarossa 1000 and Frecciarossa train services operate are all or mostly on the high speed line, while Frecciargento services use the high speed lines for at least some of the journey.

A choice of trains:

As will be seen below, different types of Frecce train share some routes and when that is the case it makes little difference to the journey time.

However, if the departure/arrival times suit, our preference is to avoid the Frecciargento services as they're not as fabulous as the Frecciarossa or Frecciarossa 1000 trains.

Also there are 4 x classes of service available on Frecciarossa and Frecciarossa 1000 trains, but only two are available on Frecciargento trains.

When Frecciarossa and Frecciarossa 1000 trains share a route, out preference is to chooose the Frecciarossa 1000 when travelling 1st class and the Frecciarossa when travelling 2nd class - particularly if we have luggage.

If you look up journeys on Trenitalia, you can see which type of Frecce trains will be used on each departure.

The trains per route:

(1) Torino/Turin - Milano - Bologna - Florence/Firenze - Roma - Napoli - Salerno = Frecciarossa 1000 and Frecciarossa trains.
The Frecciarossa trains are used mainly on the services that call in Florence/Firenze.

(2) Venezia/Veince - Padova/Padua - Bologna - Florence/Firenze - Roma - Napoli = Frecciarossa 1000, Frecciarossa and Frecciargento trains.

(3) Udine or /Venezia/Venice - Padova/Padua - Verona - Brescia - Milano - Torino/Turin = Frecciarossa trains

(4) Bolzano - Trento - Verona - Bologna - Florence/Firenze - Roma ( - Salerno - Paola)  = Frecciargento trains

(5) Roma - Bari - Lecce = Frecciargento trains

(6) Roma - Napoli - Salerno - Lamezia Terme - Villa San Giovanni - Reggio di Calabria = Frecciargento and Frecciabianca trains

(7) Roma - Rimini =  Frecciabianca trains

(8) Torino/Turin - Genova - La Spezia - Pisa - Livorno - Roma =  Frecciabianca trains

(9) Torino/Turin - Milano -  Bologna - Ancona - Pescara - Foggia - Bari - Lecce = Frecciarossa trains

(10) Milano - Parma - Modena - Bologna - Ancona - Pescara - Bari = Frecciabianca AND now Frecciargento trains 

(11) Milano - Bologna - Firenze - Arezzo - Perugia = Frecciarossa trains


Bistro (Hot Food)
Bar (Cold Food)
Double Deck
High Speed

Rail passes and reservations

Close this info panel  

Other features

Close this info panel  


Close this info panel